top of page

Sports Minister Dedicates Sportsville Award to Teamwork, Sports Enthusiasts

February, 14 2022.

The Minister of Youth and Sports Development Sunday Dare has dedicated the 'Most Innovative Award' given him by respected media outfit Sportsville Communications to those on his team and all sports enthusiasts.

The second edition of the Sportsville Awards was held at the Radisson Hotel, Ikeja, Lagos on Sunday with recognition awards given to some Nigerians who have made important contributions to sports development in the country.

The Minister said the award is an encouragement for him to continue to serve Nigeria with zeal and an inspiration to leave a legacy that would outlive his assignment as Sports Minister.

"I am dedicating this award to those on my team and all sports enthusiasts. I also want to appreciate those I can describe as my closet advisers. There are many of them here. They are the people who offer me sound counsel and say it just the way it is.

"These people reach out to me at even very odd hours and point me in the right direction. Without them, some of the decisions we have taken as a Ministry that have earned me this award may not have happened," he said.

Other award winners on the night include the Deputy Governor of Edo State, Comrade Philip Shuaibu, former Nigerian International footballer, Chief Segun Odegbami, the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Channels Television, Mr John Momoh, respected broadcaster and former Director General of the National Broadcasting Commission(NBC), Mallam Danladi Bako, sports marketing experts, Mike Itemuagbor and Bukola Olopade, women football promoter and former lawmaker, Alhaja Ayo Omidiran, the president of the Nigerian wrestling federation, Honourable Daniel Igali, former international basketballers, Olumide Oyedeji and Ugo Udezue, publisher of Complete Sports newspapers, Pastor Sunny Obazu-Ojeagbese and the first vice president of the Nigeria Football Federation, Barrister Seyi Akinwunmi.

13 views0 comments


bottom of page