top of page

Osimhen, Last African Player Standing As 12-Man Shortlist for FIFA World Best 2023 Is Unveiled

October, 7 2023.

SSC Napoli and Super Eagles of Nigeria striker, Victor James Osimhen has safely made the cut for the last twelve (12) players shortlisted for the Best FIFA Football Award (2023).

Osimhen, the only African player that made it this far, was listed alongside eleven (11) other top stars, for his sterling performances for both club and country, in the year under review.

He helped SSC Napoli win the Italian Serie A Sccudetto last season, by contributing thirty-one (31) goals in all competitions and on the international scene, and with the Super Eagles, Osimhen finished the African Cup of Nations qualifying campaign, as the highest goal scorer with ten (10) goals.

FIFA listed the final twelve (12) nominees for the Best FIFA Men’s Player Award (2023) as:

Julian Alvarez Man City & Argentina Marcelo Brozovic - Al Nassr and Croatia

Kevin De Bruyne - Man City & Belgium

Ilkay Gundogan - Man City & Germany

Erling Braut Haaland - Man City & Norway

Rodrigo Hernández Cascante - Man City & Spain

Khvicha Kvaratskhelia - SSC Napoli & Georgia

Kylian Mbappe - PSG & France

Andres Lionel Messi - Inter Miami

Victor Osimhen SSC Napoli & Nigeria Declan Rice - Arsenal & England

Bernardo Silva - Man City & Portugal

The final twelve (12) nominees for the Best FIFA Women’s Player Award (2023) are:

Aitana Bonmati, Linda Caicedo, Rachel Daly, Kadidiatou Diani, Caitlin Foord, Mary Fowler, Alex Greenwood, Jennifer Hermoso, Lindsey Horan, Amanda Ilestedt, Lauren James, Sam Kerr, Mapi Leon, Hinata Miyazawa, Salma Paralluelo, Keira Walsh; reports.

The football governing body, organizers of the annual event, notes that the final three (3) nominees in each category will be announced at a later date, whilst the Best FIFA Football Awards (2023) will be presented at a ceremony in Paris on February 27, 2024.

92 views0 comments


bottom of page