top of page

Kenyan, 2 Ethiopians Listed Among Eleven Nominees for Women’s World Athlete of the Year 2023

October, 12 2023.

Three Africans Superstars, reigning world champions, and Jamaican heroine; topped the list as World Athletics, the governing body for global track and field released its list of eleven (11) stars, for the Women's Athlete of the year 2023.

According to World Athletics, the list of eleven (11) nominees were carefully selected by an international panel of track and field experts, comprising representatives from, all six continental areas of World Athletics.

In what has been another memorable year for the sport, the nominations reflect some of the standout performances achieved at the World Athletics Championships, Budapest 2023, one-day meeting circuits, Label road races and other events around the world.

Regrettably, and unlike last year, when Nigeria had the 2022 women's 100 meters hurdles world champion, Oluwatobi Amusan listed; the country has no representative, no thanks to a difficult season, that culminated in distractions the world record holder holder had prior to the World Championships, in Budapest, Hungary.

The African nominees are:

Tigist Assefa, Ethiopia - Marathon

· Berlin Marathon winner &

· World Marathon Record

Faith Kipyegon, Kenya 1500m/Mile/5000m

· World 1500, 5000 meters Champion

· World Records at 1500 metres, the Mile and 5000 meters.

Gudaf Tsegay, Ethiopia 5000m/10,000m

· World 10,000 metres Champion

· Diamond League 5000 meters Champion with World Record (WR).

Shericka Jackson, Jamaican (Sprint Queen) 100m/200m

· Worlds 200 meters Champion and 100 meters Silver Medalist

· Diamond League 100 meters and 200 meters Champion.

Sha’Carri Richardson, USA 100m/200m

· World Champion at 100 meters

· World Bronze medalist at 200 meters

Femke Bol, the Netherlands 400m/400m Hurdles

· World 400 metres Hurdles Champion

· World Indoor 400 meters Record

Haruka Kitaguchi, Japan Javelin

· World Champion

· Diamond League Champion

Yaroslava Mahuchikh, Ukraine High Jump

· World Champion

· Diamond League Champion

Maria Perez, Espana (Spain) Race walk

· World 20 km and 35 km Race walk, World Champion

· World Record at 35 km Race Walk (WR)

Yulimar Rojas, Venezuela Triple Jump

· World Champion

· Diamond League Champion

Winfed Yavi, Bahrain 3000m Steeplechase

· World Champion

· Diamond League Champion with World Lead.

A three-way voting process will subsequently apply, to determine the finalists.

The World Athletics Council and the World Athletics family will cast their votes by email, while fans can vote online via the World Athletics social media platforms.

Meanwhile, individual graphics for each nominee will be posted on Facebook, X formerly Twitter, Instagram and YouTube this week; a ‘like’ on Facebook, Instagram and YouTube or a retweet on X will count as one vote.

The World Athletics Council’s vote will count for 50% of the result, while votes by the World Athletics fraternity and votes by members of the larger public will each count for 25% of the final result.

Voting for the World Athletes of the Year 2023 closes at midnight, on Saturday October 28; at the conclusion of the voting process. Five (5) women and five (5) men finalists will be announced by World Athletics on November 13-14; and the ultimate winners will be revealed on World Athletics’ Social Media platforms on December 11; reports.

6 views0 comments


bottom of page