top of page

FIFA Council Name 2030, 2034 World Cup Hosts: Morocco Land Shared 2030 Hosting Rights

October, 4 2023.

.. Mundial Returns to Africa After 2 Decades

FIFA Council, the highest decision making organ of football's world governing body (FIFA) has announced key decisions, reached by the body in respect of the hosting rights for the 2030 and 2034 World Cup tournaments.

The decisions includes, an unprecedented and landmark decision to stage the 2030 finals across three continent's; including Africa.

In a bold move which is seen as gesture to unite a fragmented world, in unique global celebration of the most popular single sporting event known to mankind, the FIFA Council awarded the rights to Morocco, and Iberian neighbours - Portugal and Spain.

The joint bid by the three nations was the sole candidate to host the centenary edition of the global showpiece, which began in Uruguay, in 1930.

But as a consequence, the FIFA World Cup 2030 will have three of the fixtures, played in three South American countries - Uruguay, Argentina and Paraguay, to celebrate a century of the advent of the FIFA World Cup.

The governing body said it has also invites member associations from Asia (AFC) and Oceania (OFC) to launch bids for the rights to host the FIFA World Cup 2034. understands that the decisions as itemized above were outcome of extensive consultations, FIFA had with all confederations in the frame.

Given the importance of marking the centenary of the quadruannial football tournament, the FIFA Council arrived at the key decisions of the bidding and hosting of the Centenary edition of the Mundial in 2030 during its meeting held by videoconference from the Home of FIFA, in Switzerland.

Morocco had at different times, unsuccessfully bided to host the tournament, and was thought to have been on the verge of winning the 2006 ballot, before last minute maneuvers saw Franz Berkenbeur's Germany snatch the rights.

To placate Africa and ensure that the World Cup is staged on every other continent, on rotational basis; South Africa was given the 2010 rights, and it became the first ever African nation to host the finals.

With Morocco, co-hosting the 2030 World Cup with Spain and Portugal; one can gladly say that, FIFA President, Gianni Infantino has followed in the footsteps of Sepp Blatter who virtually defied the "world" to bring the tournament to Africa for the first time, in 2010.

Additionally, FIFA said it has taken into account the historical context of the first-ever World Cup, and further unanimously agreed to host a unique centenary celebration ceremony in Montevideo, capital of Uruguay; where the first ever FIFA World Cup took place in 1930.

“In a divided world, FIFA and football are uniting. The FIFA Council, representing the entire world of football, unanimously agreed to celebrate the centenary of the FIFA World Cup, whose first edition was played in Uruguay in 1930, in the most appropriate way. As a result, a celebration will take place in South America and three South American countries. The first of these three matches will of course be played at the stadium where it all began, in Montevideo’s mythical Estádio Centenário, precisely to celebrate the centenary edition of the FIFA World Cup,” said FIFA President Gianni Infantino.

71 views0 comments


bottom of page