top of page

2022/23 NNL Season Reaches Business Phase, as Promotion & Relegation Playoffs Teams Are Unveiled

June, 13 2023.

The stage is virtually set for the season ending promotion and relegation play-offs, following the conclusion of the abridged 2022/23 Nigeria National League (NNL) regular league.

As agreed in principle by stakeholders and the management of the nation's second tier men's football league, the Super 8 Play-offs to be staged

at the Stephen Keshi Memorial Stadium, Asaba, will produce the four clubs that will get promoted to the elite division, the Nigeria Premier Football League (NPFL).

Top of the teams that qualified for the promotional play-offs are the trio of; Kano Pillars, Katsina United and Heartland of Owerri, who are all looking to return to the NPFL, after just one season, in the NNL.

The others are DMD FC of Maiduguri, FC One Rocket of Uyo, EFCC FC of Abuja, Abeokuta Stormers FC and Sporting Lagos FC.

The four teams to win promotion to the NPFL, will fill the void vacated by the quartet of El-kanemi Warriors, Nasarawa United, Dakkada FC of Uyo, and Wikki Tourists of Bauchi, who were relegated from the NPFL, at the end of the regular season, reports.

Similarly, eight teams; Sokoto United, Adamawa United Henserd FC of Yenagoa, Joy Cometh FC of Lagos, ABS FC of Ilorin, FCW Champion FC of Abuja, Ikorodu City FC and Edel FC of Oba, will feature at the relegation play-offs.

The top four clubs at the tournament, will retain their NNL status; while the bottom four drops to the nation's third tier league, the Nationwide League One (NLO).

Meanwhile, the management of the NNL has made public the list of clubs, whose relegation have been confirmed. They are Zamfara United,

Police Machine FHQ FC, Gateway United FC, Kogi United,

Green Barrett FC,

FC Ebedei, Ibom Youth FC, and

Go Round FC of Omuoku.

185 views0 comments


bottom of page